DafaNews Top Sports Stories and Latest Headlines

Mumbai Indians Win Fifth IPL Title

Cricket   |   November 11, 2020



The Mumbai Indians have emerged as the champions of the 2020 IPL season after beating the Delhi Capitals by a five-wicket win to secure their fifth IPL title (having won it previously in 2013, 2015, 2017, and 2019).

The Capitals ended the game 156-7 while the champions finished 157-5. It was the first successful title defense for Mumbai. This was the Capitals’ first appearance at the finals. The finals was held in the United Arab Emirates behind closed doors.

The captain of the Mumbai Indians, Rohit Sharma led his side to victory as he scored 68 from 51 balls. Sharma was assisted by Ishan Kishan (33 from 19 balls) and Quinton de Kock. Kieron Pollard and Hardik Pandya were dismissed but not without helping their side inch closer to 157. Sharma and de Kock were able to produce 45 within the first four overs. The skipper was also later dismissed towards the end as Mumbai said to victory.

The Delhi Capitals, who had lost to Mumbai 3 times this season, struggled to keep up with their opponent, despite having some luck as Trent Boult bowled a fine ball at the start of the game to give his side an edge, which they, unfortunately, failed to progress on. Shreyas Iyer scored 65 from 50 balls without going out while Rishabh Pant made 56 from 38 balls before. But all of that, including Boult’s 3-30 was not enough to save the Delhi team from defeat due to some blunders. Bowler Kagiso Rabada conceded 18 from the first over. Shikhar Dhawan, who stands as Delhi’s highest run-scorer only made 15 runs in their final game.

The Mumbai Indians gave the other side a tough time. The effort of Sharma saw his side sail to victory and also made sure the Capitals had a hard time recovering. The team has solidified now itself as the best team in the IPL and also the best T20 side, after winning the local league twice more than any other team in the world.


Written by: Leon Osamor

Embed Code