Join Dafanews today and get to enjoy our Free to Play Games.
  • Coming Soon!

  • Coming Soon!

  • Join Dafanews

    Create Account

    [ultimatemember form_id=12362]

    Welcome, !

    You have successfully created your account. You can now enjoy our FREE TO PLAY GAMES

  • Coming Soon!

  • Coming Soon!

  • Play Now Play Now

    Welcome, !

    You have successfully created your account. You can now enjoy our FREE TO PLAY GAMES or access our wide range of DAFABET products

  • Coming Soon!

  • Coming Soon!

  • Can't Login?

    Coming Soon!

    Coming Soon!

    Premier League Stars Named in Shortlist For CAF Awards


    Football   |   November 24, 2019

    European Champions, Liverpool, have had their forwards Mohamed Salah and Sadio Mane shortlisted for the 2019 edition of the CAF Awards.

    In like manner, Arsenal’s striker Pierre Emerick Aubameyang and Manchester City forward Riyad Mahrez are in contention. Salah’s Liverpool teammate Naby Keita including Leicester City’s Wilfried Ndidi, Jordan Ayew, Wilfred Zaha, and Nicolas Pepe, are also included.

    Egyptian forward Mo Salah stands a very big chance of retaining the gong he won in 2017 and last year should he be declared winner for the third consecutive year.

    However, fellow Liverpool forward and Senegalese Striker Sadio Mane and Gabonese international Pierre Emerick Aubameyang are strong contenders and oppositions just as they were last year.

    It will be recalled that the trio of Aubameyang, Salah, and Mane finished as joint top scorers in the EPL last season with 22 goals apiece.

    They have also completed the final three of CAF African Player of The Year Awards in the last two editions with Salah besting Mane and Aubameyang on both times.

    While Salah won the UEFA Champions League and the EPL top scorer’s gong, Mane added an African Cup of Nations Silver medal to the club achievements with Liverpool.

    Meanwhile, Manchester City’s Forward Riyad Mahrez won the AFCON title as well as the EPL title.

    Other Europe-based non-EPL players nominated include Napoli Defender Kalidou Koulibaly Athletico Madrid’s Thomas Partey, PSG’s Idrissa Gueye, and Ajax’s Hakim Ziyech.

    Other players in the 30- Man shortlist includeAchraf Hakimi, André Onana, Baghdad Bounedjah, Carolus Andriamatsinoro, Denis Onyango, Eric Maxim Choupo-Moting, Ferjani Sassi, Kodjo Fo Doh Laba, Mahmoud Hassan ‘Trezeguet’, Mbwana Samat, Moussa Marega, Odion Ighalo, Percy Tau, Taha Yassine Khenissi, Victor Osimhen and Youcef Belaili.

    The African Player Of The Year Award winner will be revealed on the 7th of January in Hurghada, Egypt.



    Written by: Idowu Daniel Ademiju

    Embed Code